Me, tech and Failures

Me, tech and Failures

Failures are either your teacher, or your enemy. Depends on the way you look at them.

·

4 min read

Well, this is just going to be a blog where I talk about myself in tech and the failures I faced so that you all don't feel alone like I did back then.

How did I start with Tech?

Well to be honest I started with tech when covid started and we all were locked inside our homes. Back then I was pretty much-watching anime, doing light gaming, and stuff like that, and two friends of my mine introduced me to Web development, and believe me, I did fall in love with how the web works, and I started making small projects, watching tutorials and that is how I got started with tech!

My failure to learn

Well sometimes you would face failures even when you're learning, talking about myself the way I learned stuff at the beginning was in an unstructured manner, as a result, I skipped quite a lot of core fundamentals which impacts some of my performance to date.

I remember getting stuck in tutorial hell, watching tutorials one after another but wasn't able to do anything for nearly about 6 months. It was frustrating, but hey you'll learn through the pains you take!

Getting FOMO all over

Fear of missing out is very dangerous and wastes your time. I remember during the days when I was learning some of my friends were working in their startups, freelancing, and earning money, and believe me the fear that I had in myself made me lose trust in myself. I was starting to worry that what would happen to me because it's been about six to eight months and I have learned so little.

But fortunately sooner or later I broke out of it the only way you can get over this fear is to work harder than yesterday. Believe in yourself and believe in the fact that you can do it and never compare yourself with others because everyone learns differently.

Breaking down in my first internship

My first internship was in a Startup. While I was in my 2nd year I joined them as a front-end engineer. The day after I got tasks assigned I broke down. The codebase was so huge that I was feeling helpless because I literally couldn't understand a single line of it. I was restless and I had lost all trust that I could ever perform a single task that was assigned to me. I even saw pieces of tech that were used which I had no clue about. Even though I stared at my computer for sleepless nights, I couldn't understand anything.

The key here was just to ask. I asked about the codebase to 3 of my senior developers and amazingly enough, I spent one more day with them over meetings understanding the whole codebase. I realized that you are dumb if you are not asking questions because we cannot do anything on our own if we don't understand what's going on.

Getting trolled at interviews

Believe it or not, I was getting trolled at interviews, as I said earlier due to my unstructured way of learning I have missed quite a few basics and core fundamentals. and as a result, I knew how a thing worked, but I didn't what that thing was called- as a result, I was unable to answer some of the most basic questions. They believed that most of my projects were copied and Googled because I was not able to answer them properly.

The only way to overcome this is to make a proper list of stuff that you feel you are not confident about and then revise the core fundamentals and basics. It will help you get better.

Giving up, the END?

Giving up is the easy way out but I chose the hard Way. I've always wanted to become a successful web developer so giving up on my dreams was never an option. I kept failing from time to time, but I got up and worked harder and harder and harder.

To date, I've worked with multiple startups, completed freelancing projects, won over 6 hackathons, and mentored over 4500 students. The secret is to never give up on something you love.

If you loved what you read, follow me on Twitter, Hashnode, and Linkedin!

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Tamal Das by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

Â